Summer is here!! (kind of…)

Holy moly y’all–has anyone else been INSANELY busy these past few weeks?  I feel like I’ve been running around non-stop!  After what felt like a year of rain, we finally got some nicer weather!  Granted, two days of that was 90 degree humid heat…brutal!  Everyone was SO cranky, thunderstorms were rampant (which the dog and kiddos HATE,) and we did not have the A/C in!

Hubs has been working out of town the past couple weeks–meaning he leaves on Monday, returns Wednesday, leaves, and comes back Friday.  He’s started working Saturday’s and it’s still turkey season, y’all, so every free chance he gets he’s out.  Needless to say, I am maxed out.  Any mama knows that feeling when you’ve been doing it mostly by yourself and you hit that wall and need a break.  I’ve had a couple moments where I’ve lost it and screamed like a crazy lady, only to bust out crying after because I HATE HATE HATE being like that with the girls.  They’re 4 and 18 months and very active kiddos.  At the end of a work day, after a couple days of being the only parent 24/7, it gets to me and bubbles over…I always regret it and they always give me hugs, love, and tell me how much they love me.

ANYWHO–we FINALLY got a nice weekend where everyone was home and got the outside all ship shape.  Our lawn looked like a hay field!  I rarely weed whack, mainly because for some reason I am terrible at it.  I did the whole outside and have a blister to prove it.  I got the gardens all turned over and planted (well, 3 of the 5…)  Last year, we had our wedding coming up and didn’t end up planting until after June!  I’m pumped that all the seeds are in!   I’ve decided to scale down on the number of different things we grow and only focus on the ones we really love.  This year we’ve got:  regular carrots, heirloom carrots (pink, purple, yellow, white!!! Love the colors!) radishes, sugar snap peas, green beans, spaghetti squash, yellow squash, cucumber, spinach, salad greens, and butter lettuce!  We’ll do potatoes in another garden and put the tomatoes out front.  Typing that all out made me realize that even though I might’ve scaled back on the number of things I’m growing, I have A LOT more of each thing this year.  WOOOOOO!

We have a random pile of dirt on the other side of the garden.  I bought WAY too many green bean seeds, so Keith made Madelyn her own little garden!  She is SO excited!  While laying in bed with her last night, she gets a super serious look on her face and says, “Mom…I’m really excited Daddy made me my own garden, but I really do not like beans!”  Poor girl thought they were baked beans in her garden!  She’s pumped they’re green beans–last year she stole most of them off the plants before I could pick them!

18624607_919782023703_265675398_n

Of course I have to add a chicken picture!  These are three of our silkie babies sunbathing!  I’ve decided that I’m naming all the chickens after Downton Abbey characters.  I’m obsessed with the show (still!) and re-watch it every year when it is supposed to be on!  The chicken on the left is Carson, mainly because it’s hair looks like Carson’s eyebrows in Downton Abbey (Google it!)  I honestly can’t tell them apart and am considering leg bands so I can at least call them by one name consistently.  The last time I tried bands, the chickens pecked at them.  I only had them on our white leghorns because they’re impossible to tell apart.  Maybe if I put them on all, they won’t peck.  I’m sensing a trip to TSC after work 🙂

I also got my first sunburn of the season.  I got the kiddos all slathered down and Coppertone white, but forgot myself!  Whoops 🙂  I hope y’all have a great week!  Hubs and I are headed out for a kid free weekend on Friday!  It’s our one year anniversary on Sunday and we’ve rented a house on a lake in East YouKnowWhat Vermont to hang out and enjoy each other 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

