Hey Y’all!!

First blog post ever…hoping it’s not the standard, run-of-the-mill, boring post…

I decided to start a blog this morning–mainly because my life is quickly becoming busy, but also to document my life so I can look back on it.  Sure, I’m like every millennial mom who takes 6000 pictures on her phone.  But, guys, I have two small kiddos…I go through phones like wildfire and am not so tech-savvy.  A lot of my pictures disappear…

I’m also finishing up our April vacation.  I work at the local high school, so I have vacations off (sweet deal, I know!)  Summer I pull my kids out of daycare and hang out with them all day–I figured I could share what we do!  I remember those long days/nights/what time is it of breastfeeding and reading a ton of blogs throughout it.   I also have a rescue golden retriever/collie with an anxiety disorder–he’s on doggy Prozac!  He is the love of my youngest’s life and a pretty cool dude.

Our family is expanding…about a month ago my husband decided we HAD to get chickens TODAY!  We’ve talked about it for years, but something always got in the way.  We decided they’re kind of like children…you’re never really 100% ready.  Needless to say, I love them!  I went to the store yesterday to get my hubby some work pants and ended up coming out with six more chicks–bringing our flock to 12 now!  We are first time chicken people, so y’all could be in for a treat.  It’s pretty comical watching them and learning as we go.

I’m a wee bit obsessed with cooking and sneaking healthier options into foods…so A LOT of these posts will be food related.  I hope to share my favorite recipes soon!  We have 5 different gardens we tend to during the summer, so that’ll be another area of comic relief.  Kids + gardening = a good time!  I’m also that person that doesn’t tend to sugar coat things.  What you see is what you get.  If my kids are being crazy, you’ll see that.  If the chickens all got out and I’m chasing them like that crazy chicken lady–prepare for some laughs.  One of the things that bugs me about social media is everyone’s life is SO edited!  I love posting videos of my little one throwing a tantrum or a bowl of dough on the kitchen floor–that’s real life to me!

If you’ve stuck through this long, I applaud you.  I look forward to entertaining you 🙂

BRIEF ADDITION–I felt the need to explain the title of my blog, Homemade Homestead Mama.  I’m a Type A Perfectionist–coming up with a blog name is FLIPPIN HARD, GUYS!  But, I figured if you understood why you’d get it.  Homemade is because I generally make things from scratch if I have time to.  During the summer, that means our bread is made from scratch and we eat mostly what we grow.  Whenever we have get togethers with my in-laws, I always get assigned bread.  I’m the “bread lady”  Homestead comes from the fact we just got chickens–something we’ve wanted to do for awhile.  I think I might get some meat birds, too.  Ideally, we’d like a couple pigs and a cow…but not for awhile!  And Mama because, well…c’mon.  I’m a mom and my kids are a HUGE part of my life.  Plus, I know I LOVE reading Mom Blogs and seeing that I’m not the only one who has kids that constantly pick their nose, poop in the tub, and make me crazy 🙂

Leave a Reply

